• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 23, 2024, 06:58:25 PM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Cooper's European Lager Review

Started by BitterPil, November 23, 2016, 02:13:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BitterPil

I decided to try and brew a real larger because the weather is cold.
I am new to homebrewing and having lots of questions I just decided to go for it and address some of those along the way that may help others.

I bought this from HBC and was delivered the following day :)
I already had a 1KG box of brew enhancer 1 so decided to use that along with a 500kg bag of lighty spray malt.

I also ordered 20g of Saaz hops as I read elsewhere that the kit could do with a bit of extra hopping.

Having cleaned and sterilized everything I warmed up the can in a pot to get the extract runny.

I am using the 5 litre Ashbeck Spring water from Tesco in the brew.
I added the contents of the Tin along with 3 Litres of boiled water from the kettle and stirred until it was dissolved.
rinsing the tin with the boiling water to get all the extract out.
I then added the contents of the Malt extract and stirred until everything was dissolved.
Took a bit of stirring to get all the lumps out.
Topped up with cold water until I had the full 23 litres in the FV.

The temperature of the brew was at about 22 degrees so I pitched the yeast by sprinkling on top.

Tested the OG which was 1043.

My plan is to keep the temperature somewhere between 13 and 15 degrees so moved to the shed.

However this is fluctuating between 10 degrees and 4 degrees as the weather is so cold.

I tried a heatbelt but the FV did not get above 10 degrees.

Bought a bucket in woodies that the FV will fit into and added some water that covers the FV upto the 15 litre mark.