• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 27, 2024, 05:04:14 PM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Orange peel& white pepper at 60 mins?

Started by FlimFlamFlo, July 05, 2016, 04:29:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FlimFlamFlo

Hello :-)

I have a recipe for a high gravity Saison that calls for bitter orange peel (28g) and crushed white peppercorns (1/2 tsp) at 60 mins - on a 60min boil... The lone hop addition is Northern Brewer (28g) also at 60.

I'm still learning the ropes but a lot of what I've read suggests a lot later in the boil for additions like these. I see Saisons with grains of paradise/coriander/what you will - at 5 or 10 mins. Does the 60 mins make sense?

Any advice appreciated :-)

Leann ull

I've only ever added them between 5 mins and flameout, never seen them for that long, whats the recipe?
http://drinks.seriouseats.com/2011/05/homebrewing-how-to-brew-with-spices.html

FlimFlamFlo

Thanks CH - it's a Paul Zocco recipe from a magazine.

For 19l

6.8kg Pilsner malt
454g wheat malt
9g chocolate malt (for colour)

28g Northern brewer pellets (6.9% AAU) at 60 mins
28g dried bitter orange peel at 60 minutes
.5 tsp Chinese white pepper at 60 mins

Wyeast 3711 French Saison

Mash at 63c for 60 mins

Leann ull

ok so that 60 minutes I am guessing is at the end of your boil, does he mention a fermentation profile?
Thanks for sharing looks good in any case, interesting colour addition :).

FlimFlamFlo

Thanks again :-)

Says to pitch under 27c - at recommended temp for the strain. Ferment 18-21c
Transfer to secondary after 10 days and continue at 18-21 for 2 weeks/it's done.
10 days in the bottle to condition.

OG - 1.080    FG 1.010   ABV 8.6%

>>I've always fermented Saisons pretty high, so wondering about the temps on this.