• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
March 28, 2024, 09:59:38 PM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Malt extract brewing first timer

Started by Jimmy5694, May 22, 2020, 12:06:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jimmy5694

Hello,

Hope you are keeping well. My name is James I'm new here and I'm new to brewing just Thought I'd share what I'm doing to try and learn new tips and tricks.

As it's my first time Im not overly worried about the recipe just to get the method right. I've cooked up the wort and it's been in the primary fermenter with 7 days and I'm planning on bottling on the 28th. In the first few days A white foam appeared on the to which turned brown and then disappeared yesterday. The airlock is still bubbling steadily. I have a stainless temperature probe in the carboy and it's been sitting around 18.0c - 19.1c. According to Young's between 15c to 20c is good. However, I'd like to see it around 17c - not sure if that will make a major difference or not. What I have noticed is that there is a cruddy build up around the temperature probe to which I'm considering to clean.

So I'm brewing 5 gallons.

Method:

Cleaned and sanitised all equipment using VWP cleaner & sanitiser - struggled with this as I had to leave equipment soak for 5-10mins before using and where I needed to repeat sterilisation would have preferred to use something like starsan.

Heated 14litres of water to 68c and added LME and then increased heat to 99c and added the hops in the times below. Struggled here as I was initially using a kerosene stove and the aluminium pot was old and out of shape. So I had to switch to gas.

Cooled the wort down to 24c and topped up with cooled pre boiled water which created the 5gallons. Initial OG reading is 35 honestly I think I used the wrong scale. And added the yeast.

The recipe is for a light lager