• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 27, 2024, 08:01:56 PM

News:

Renewing ? Its fast and easy - just pay here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

dead pony club extract clone

Started by DrowningManatee, March 28, 2013, 06:20:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DrowningManatee

found this recipe online, love the dead pony club.

its all grain but im thinking I can just replace the pale malt with 3kg light DME? and then still use the other specialty grains...

Only done one extract brew so im new to it, any pointers 'd be great, cheers dudes in advance :)

OG - 1.039
FG - 1.009
IBU - 26.8 (Brewdog say this beer is 25 IBU, but clearly there's loads more coming from the hopback and dry hops. I've tried to go the same route.)
EBC - 12
ABV - 3.9%
Yeast - US-05

Mash at 68c to keep some body in it:

3.5kg Pale Malt (87.5%)
0.4kg Caramalt (10%)
0.1kg Crystal (2.5%)

60 min boil:
20g Citra @ 15 mins
10g Simcoe @ 15 mins
20g Galaxy/Mosaic @ 5 mins
50g Citra - Hopback/aroma steep
35g Simcoe - Hopback/aroma steep
25g Galaxy/Mosaic - Hopback/aroma steep

Dry Hops:
50g Citra
35g Simcoe
25g Galaxy/Mosaic
Primary :
Grapefruit mead

Secondary:
Orange Blossom Mead
Blackberry Mead

Bottled:

Fal

I'll have to try that recipe, I wonder why would you bother with  a 60 minute boil if the first addition is at 15mins? I've done 15min only boils before and they work out fine.
...used to be NewBier

Hop Bomb

Hopback, dry hop & late hop additions dont add anything to the bitterness (IBU). They are all for aroma.

Boiling for 60 mins sterilizes the beer/wort + gets rid of all the proteins & tannins.
On tap: Flanders, Gose,
Fermenting: Oatmeal Brown, 200ish Fathoms,
Ageing: bretted 1890 export stout.
To brew:  2015 RIS, Kellerbier, Altbier.

DrowningManatee