• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 26, 2024, 07:49:13 PM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Advice ?

Started by dunkinstober, November 19, 2014, 04:35:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dunkinstober

Hi Folks
Newbie here looking for advice. I started my first extract kit last Saturday a Brupack irish Stout, all went well, I was using a brew belt for the fermentation bucket with a blanket around it and I kept the fermentation bin in the kitchen, checked it yesterday felt very warm so I got one of those stick on thermometers and it was up on 35 degrees ! yikes ! have I made a balls of it ? obviously I have dropped the temp down to around 22 now and am keeping an eye on it how bad is this and is there anything i should do to rectify it, bubbling has also slowed to once every 30-40 mins or more. In theory primary should be finished tomorrow or Friday.

On this note can anyone recommend a good IPA extract kit , I like em strong and Hoppy. I want to get one on for the xmas. How do others control the fermentation temp any advice ? Anyone using an immersion heater? or can recommend a temp controlled system. Also any word on a Nov/Dec meet up for the club, I couldn't make the boat club gig in Oct . Lots of Questions I know , any guidance appreciated.
Thanks
Tom

montofk

It might have a few of flavours alright, but mightn't be as bad as you're worrying about. I had a temperature co ck up last year and it was surprisingly drinkable. Take the gravity and if it's ready just bottle it... And get the next beer on while it's conditioning.... At least if it is bad you've got another beer in the pipeline.  :)