• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 27, 2024, 10:12:58 AM

News:

Renewing ? Its fast and easy - just pay here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

2nd/3rd kit

Started by Inky, January 25, 2016, 12:06:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Inky

Call it stupidity/enthusiasm but I had two kits sitting on my shelf a bad cat imperial red and youngs American ipa and decided to get them both on the go this evening. I'm still a total newbie so no hacking etc yet for myself but pleased with gravity, temp etc and I'm hoping to attempt batch priming for the 1st time when they're ready so il just keep the fingers and toes crossed til then.

irish_goat

No good sitting on the shelf anyway sure.   :P

The American IPA would suit a bit of dryhopping if you want to give that a go too.

Inky

I've read of dryhopping on here. Might sound stupid but if I don't ask I'll never learn. Is dryhopping just like adding additional hops in before bottling?

irish_goat

Exactly. You add hops to the fermenter and let them steep for a few days and then bottle. It's one of the easiest ways to get lots of fresh hop aroma into your beer.

Inky

With it being that simple I might give it some thought so. Cheers Irish_goat

Drzava

The Young's American IPA kit actually comes with a generous 100g dry hop bag. Just make sure fermentation has stopped before you add it - this kit is pretty slow. I did it a few months ago and it took three weeks for it to stop dropping. I dry hopped for three days - I wouldn't let them in more than four days TBH.

RobShamrock

The Red Cat was my 2nd ever kit, was good, but I under carbed it and drank it too young. I might revisit it again. Supping the Bulldog Evild Dog IPA at the moment which I bottled in Sept.  and its fab.

Heard great things about the youngs kits, have the american amber ale here waiting to put on

oinkely

Good stuff Inky,