• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 27, 2024, 08:22:10 AM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

2nd Brew.. 1st hack... looking for suggestions

Started by mac2k, November 08, 2016, 04:22:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mac2k

Hi all,

I am very new to home brewing but I am looking forward to trying a few brews in the coming months.  At the moment I have a Razorback IPA in the FV and I am looking for my next project.  This will be my 2nd brew, but I would like to do a kit hack to try get the most out of the kit beers until I build up some more experience and knowledge.  I am looking for a session larger, something with some nice flavors that give you that bit more that commercial beers.  I am hoping to find a nice kit hack that I can keep coming back to when friends & family visit.  So far from looking around this site I like the sound of LordEoins suggestions in this post.

http://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/forum/index.php/topic,15481.0.html

Has anyone else got any suggestions for a nice session larger?  I would be interested in hearing about any beers with a hack or 2 that you come back to time and time again.

Cheers,
Kev

LordEoin

Do you have sufficient temperature control for a lager yeast?

mac2k

November 09, 2016, 04:54:09 PM #2 Last Edit: November 09, 2016, 05:53:26 PM by mac2k
Quote from: LordEoin on November 08, 2016, 11:35:37 PM
Do you have sufficient temperature control for a lager yeast?

mmm...  probably not.  I am keeping the razorback IPA at 20c wrapped in jacket in the kitchen without any major fluctuations.  would probably have to move the brew to some where colder and perhaps use a brew belt or somthing similar.  I might not be able to this one right now an it looked like a good option

Crap >:(