• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 19, 2024, 08:42:17 PM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Dunkelweizen

Started by wilted, August 13, 2013, 08:40:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wilted

Right so my shocktop(thanks lord eoin) is bubbling away nicely so I think its time to start planning my next brew.
I love a good dunkel so I'm going to try hack a cooper wheat kit into a dunkel :)
Any suggestions/advice will be much appreciated
Here we go(go easy on me I'm still a newbie)

Coopers kit
1kg wheat DME
500g dark DME

Steep
115g black
115g caramel
200g carapils

Yeast wb06

Have at it experts of the kit brew

irish_goat

I'm not sure if that much black malt is going to be good for a dunkel. They don't tend to have that much roasty character. I'd drop it and use 200g carafa special along with the caramel and carapils.

http://www.thehomebrewcompany.ie/roasted-caramalt-dehusked-carafa-special-3-germany-500g-p-613.html

wilted

Excellent I'll swap that out I had got chocolate in there and swapped it out for black.
Carafa special looks like it'll do the job nicely,thanks goat :)

Richie71

Well I'm just supping on the last of the Hefe from Lord Eoin's recipe (many thanks btw!!) and had the same idea as wilted.  My thoughts for a Dunkelweizen are (keeping it as simple as I can)...

Coopers Wheat Beer Kit
150g Carafa Special 1
1.5kg Coopers wheat LME
WB-06 yeast

Any update from your brew Wilted...how did it turn out?

LordEoin

Those recipes both look like they'll be the bees knees  :D
with wb06, underpitch for banana, overpitch for clove
22 for banana, 18C for clove
Play with it!

wilted

Sorry about the late reply Richie been without internet access for the last two months or so :(