• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
March 28, 2024, 02:55:35 PM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

First time smoking meat : need advice

Started by Acott, August 25, 2016, 10:57:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Acott

Hey guys, I'm on the hunt for some advice,

I plan on smoking some meat but I'm a complete newb. I've watched a ton of youtube videos and picked up what I could but I'm thinking of cheating a little .

Is it be possible to smoke a brisket for 2 hours, wrap it, then move it to the oven for the remaining 9 or so hours at a low heat? 

Also, I don't own a smoker yet, was looking to spend €100 - €150, any recommendations?

ronniedeb

I've done this with Pork Shoulder and Ribs, so dont see why it would be a problem. You wouldnt want smoke on it for much more than 2 hours anyway.

Acott

Nice one, I think my major concern is being able to keep the correct temp over 9 hours in a cheap smoker,
also I've no cover in my back garden and we all know what the Irish weather is like!

eanna

I have a big poppa smokers diy kit but the homebrew mania one looks attractive too. I havnt tried brisket because of the time commitment, but 9 hours seems short from what I've read online.

helmet

Quote from: Acott on August 26, 2016, 08:34:36 AM
Nice one, I think my major concern is being able to keep the correct temp over 9 hours in a cheap smoker,
also I've no cover in my back garden and we all know what the Irish weather is like!
Well Aidan, if you go with homebrewmania I work in Balbriggan where they're based, so could pick it up for you.

danger_zone

Have you tried building one Aidan. I remember watching  Jaime Oliver show and his mate Jimmy built one for about €60 euro. There's also a few YouTube videos for building simple ones using terracotta garden pots I think
fermenting - peach wheat, mango wheat

drinking - whiskey stout

Pheeel