• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
May 21, 2024, 12:32:28 PM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Carbonation temp

Started by Oh Crap, May 01, 2015, 01:58:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

auralabuse

Quote from: Oh Crap on May 02, 2015, 11:30:44 AM
Hmmmm
That's a possibility although the pale malt is uncrushed weyermanns from one of the homebrew shops here but that's not to say it's not part of the problem.
I have mci lager malt ready for a lager this week and am using bottled water to see if it's a water issue ,unfortunately it'll be a while before that's ready, I was planning a stout next but I think I'll have to brew another light colour to see if I can sort this out...cheers for suggestions
My immediate thought was water alkalinity. I'm no expert but my light styles turn out soapy and dark styles are excellent. Alkaline water gives a soapy taste to lighter styles. I just brewed an ipa with treated water so if it turns out good I will let you know. At least it will prove it was the water profile

Oh Crap

Quote from: auralabuse on May 02, 2015, 08:16:05 PM
Quote from: Oh Crap on May 02, 2015, 11:30:44 AM
Hmmmm
That's a possibility although the pale malt is uncrushed weyermanns from one of the homebrew shops here but that's not to say it's not part of the problem.
I have mci lager malt ready for a lager this week and am using bottled water to see if it's a water issue ,unfortunately it'll be a while before that's ready, I was planning a stout next but I think I'll have to brew another light colour to see if I can sort this out...cheers for suggestions