• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 25, 2024, 11:07:37 PM

News:

Renewing ? Its fast and easy - just pay here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Full Upgrade of Equipment

Started by Sokratees9, October 05, 2020, 02:34:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sokratees9

Hi all,

I've been homebrewing for a few years now, mainly with a big saucepan (approx 30cm diametre and 30cm deep, enough for about 12l or so) and a bucket and a carboy.  I've bee doing 50% grain and adding extract, and then topping up to 20l after boiling, using BIAB.  I've done a couple of all grain half batches, but found they didn't go as well, not sure why.

Anyway, I want to keep producing 20l or so at a time (maybe a bit more, but I don't want to go huge), as I've now got a kegerator set up with two corny kegs.

I'm willing to spend between 500-100 quid on new equipment, so any suggestions on the best way forward would be very welcome.  I want to be able to be as flexible as possible with what I brew, but also to tighten up the procedures a good bit to improve quality.

Do I just go straight for a grainfather (although their webshop seems to be sold out), or are there better ways to use the money?  Is it better to invest money in the fermentation side, or the hot side?

Thanks,
Sok

pob

Always better to improve cold side first, even on a Coopers kit setup.

Go fermentation control (Inkbird controller, €35) & 60w heating tube (€25) in a 2nd hand (or new, if budget allows) fridge.

Before you go Robobrew, Brewmonk (€400-500 variants) or Grainfather, €800.

Quote from: Sokratees9 on October 05, 2020, 02:34:07 PMI've done a couple of all grain half batches, but found they didn't go as well, not sure why.

Important to work out why; were they issues on efficiency or was it other areas? were they pre-crushed kits? Need more info, it maybe just a small tech, procedural issue.