• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 29, 2024, 08:24:29 AM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Recipe for the Barrel Aged Stout

Started by irish_goat, April 15, 2013, 09:49:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

irish_goat

Since everyone else is starting their recipe threads we might as well too, especially since we've not got too long before the cask arrives..

Personally I'm not particularly fussed with what we go for. I enjoy Leann Follain whiskey aged (6.8%) but also like Porterhouse Celebration (11%) and Eight Degrees chocolate stout (7%) was very tasty too.

Do we know what kind of cask we are getting? I'm assuming it will be whiskey that went into a blend but knowing whether it was previously a sherry or bourbon cask might give us an idea of what flavours to expect.

I've no experience really with recipe formation but I'd probably prefer one that goes into the barrel no more than 8 or 9%. And one that comes out with more vanilla, chocolaty flavours than any malty nuttiness which I've found a few stronger stouts can have.

Shane Phelan

I really enjoyed the Eight Degrees chocolate stout. I liked how the flavour wasn't too overpowering.
Brew Log

Will_D

Do we know what kind of cask we are getting? I'm assuming it will be whiskey that went into a blend but knowing whether it was previously a sherry or bourbon cask might give us an idea of what flavours to expect.
AFAIK: The barrels start life as either new, or a 1 batch old Jack Daniels cask. They are filled with raw spirit from the still and left for about 6 years. They are reused as above another 4 or 5 times and so may be between 24 and 30 years old. They have to the best of my knowledge only ever stored cask strength whiskey!!

As soon as I get ours I will check the alcohol content of the whiskey in the cask! (Scientifically - before you accuse me of drinking all the liquid!!)