• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 27, 2024, 03:50:41 PM

News:

Renewing ? Its fast and easy - just pay here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

First go

Started by tripmeup, January 21, 2019, 02:18:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tripmeup

hello all..

Noob here with a Coopers Kit received as a Christmas pressie...

Have done my first batch per the instructions (I hope) with the Coopers Lager kit
Made mix last sat (Jan 12th) that had an OG of 1031...
Left working away in a room at around 22 degrees....
Measured SG on Sat just gone and the hydrometer is near enough sinking to the bottom and am seeing a reading of around 9.95 or 10.00...
does that sound ok or is something up?

Aslo, how do you know if it is too gassy as I heard on the Coopers video??

Pheeel

It should be coming out about 1010. That sounds very low. I'd predict there's an infection somewhere to cause it to go so low but then 22c is quite high. What does it taste like? Have you kept opening the lid to take a look?
Issues with your membership? PM me!

tripmeup

Hi and thanks

No I certainly haven't been opening it at all..Only time it has been opened was to take out the krausen collar as per the instructions...
Instructions stated between 22 and 27 and I think I read that better to keep at lower end of scale, hence the temps...The room it is kept in is always around 20 (underfloor heating) so would that be sufficient rather than worrying about getting it to 22?

Haven't tasted it as yet but will do tonight when I get home..How high should I fill the tube before dropping the hydrometer in to check SG...Thinking about 3/4 ways full?

KDeath