• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 27, 2024, 08:21:23 AM

News:

Renewing ? Its fast and easy - just pay here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Sorachi SMASH / Saison - ideas?

Started by FlimFlamFlo, September 29, 2016, 07:04:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FlimFlamFlo

Does anyone have an opinion on using Sorachi Ace in a SMASH pale ale or (maybe) a SH Saison?

I've got a stash looking for a home but want to brew something I could bottle and potentially serve by Oct 29th... (which kind of rules out the Saison). Can't remember where I saw the Saison recipe, it's half scribbled in my notebook and I think it might be half-assed.

I'm still a total rookie at calculating hop quantities, so any advice on the below recipe would be appreciated :-)

SMASH
4.54 kg pale ale malt
California Ale / American Ale
Sorachi Ace (14.9% AA): 28g @ 60 ; 21g @ 20 ; 21g at flame out.
Target fg 5.4%

Saison
5.45kg belgian pilsener
French Saison yeast
Sorachi Ace (14.9%) 14g @ 60 ; 14g @ 30 ; 25g flameout >>> maybe dry hop near f/g
target f/g 5.4%

Is this a bad idea? Would I be better off drinking the juice from the jar of gherkins in my fridge?!

darren996

Either look good to me, especially the saison I think sorachi would go well with 3711 French saison, maybe add some carapills or caravienne. I like the idea of a flameout addition.  Go for it and let us know how it turns out

FlimFlamFlo

Nice one, thanks Darren :-) Will give it a whirl.

How much carapils/vienne would you be thinking? 500g?

Don't want to go full pickle on it, so 21g at flameout's probably enough? I guess I can always dry hop if it needs a lift before bottling?

Thanks again, flim.

garciaBernal