• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 28, 2024, 11:29:17 PM

News:

Renewing ? Its fast and easy - just pay here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Coopers Real Ale Extract Brew w/ grains and hops...

Started by DrowningManatee, March 05, 2013, 04:30:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DrowningManatee

This is my first time brewing with a boil or malt extract but here's the plan anyways, any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Ingredients:
Danstar Nottingham Ale Yeast,
Cooper's Real Ale Kit,
1.5kg Light LME,
50g Cascade hops,
EKGoldings 12g tea-bag,
250g Cara-crystal 120EBC.

Im re-hyrating the yeast according to Danstar's site recommendations:
sprinkle yeast on 10x weight of yeast in water at 30-35 C
leave 15m, stir, leave 5m, add wort cooling by 10degrees
leave 5m, add wort to cool by 10degrees again, add to wort.

Im adding 250g carapils 120EBC (all they had in the shop, im assuming this will result in a dark beer, does this affect flavour negatively?) to cold water (12.5 L) and raising temp to 77C.
Remove grain bag, bring to boil, add 1/2 LME
Bring to boil again (30 minute boil starts now)
Add 25g cascade at 20 min
Add 25g cascade at 12min
Add other 1/2 LME at flame out
Dissolve, add coopers can, dissolve
Cover and leave for 15minutes to pasteurize (dont really understand this but..)
cool in ice bath

apparently danstar gives banana flavours above 21C so colder fermentation, can i go as low as 15C?

Im thinking of using a secondary fermenter and adding the hop tbag then?

Im also adding lemon, orange and spice flavours at bottling time using vodka to extract the flavours and just add to each bottle in a variety of combinations, labelling em all and checking out what works

cheers for yer advice dudes, totally new to this boiling craic :)
Primary :
Grapefruit mead

Secondary:
Orange Blossom Mead
Blackberry Mead

Bottled:

DrowningManatee