• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 29, 2024, 02:32:44 PM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

New to kit brewing - Advice about potential contamination

Started by yuridwyer, October 28, 2018, 08:02:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

yuridwyer

Hi, I'm new to brewing and new to this forum, hoping someone would be able to give me some advice. I'm on my fifth, Cooper's Irish Stout, no issues with contamination for the first four, but after about three weeks in the PV I noticed a yellow thing in my airlock, stuck to the wall of it, as the beer tasted fine I continued onto bottle it about 10 days later. However while I was bottling some of the liquid in the airlock bubbled up and I think went into the fermenter, and once it settled I noticed there was yellow bits floating around in it (the airlock that is, which I removed and continued bottling with the airlock off). I asked a friend who thought it might have been the krausen blown up into it, but I don't think so myself, but I could be wrong. Anyone any ideas? Any advice greatly appreciated!!

phildo79

Wouldn't worry too much about that tiny bit of yellow stuff. Which is probably a little bit of krausen. You should see the state of some of my airlocks midway through fermentation.

But aren't you transferring to a secondary FV before bottling?

Transferring to a second FV and through a sanitised sieve will give you a cleaner beer and reduce sediment in the bottle.

mick02

Hi Yuri and welcome to the forum.

About this yellow stuff. Was your airlock clean before you used it? What I'm trying to figure out is if this was a product of fermentation (such as krausen as was previously mentioned)

If it was there before you started then you might be in trouble but if it's just krausen that made it's way into the airlock then I reckon you're safe enough.
NHC Committee member

LordEoin