• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
April 28, 2024, 12:58:44 AM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

First wheat

Started by Donny, February 23, 2016, 09:31:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Donny

Hey guys,

My sister is getting married in September and Id like to make a nice wheat beer for them for their after party. Id like to make a wheat beer thats not too complicated as its my first but Im having trouble finding anything suitable. I messed around with a recipe on beer smith but Im still learning how to use it.

I would like to make with an orange tang to it and a hint of honey. Can any of you gents recommend a recipe that i could try or any tips on the wheat beer process. So far Ive only made ales and stouts.

http://beersmithrecipes.com/viewrecipe/1058305/horange this is what i was messing with. Not sure if getting honey malt is easy in Ireland.

Cheers in advance

Pheeel

There was a thread about honey malt a couple of weeks back. AFAIK its a bugger to get here
Issues with your membership? PM me!

Leann ull

its worse than a bugger...

Donny

I have a buddie living near New York. Was going to attempt to get him to post some Gambrinus to me but I'm not sure if the states allow you to post grain outside of the states

LordEoin

it's easy to get if you're willing to pay for the shipping

Leann ull

February 24, 2016, 09:05:47 AM #5 Last Edit: February 24, 2016, 09:27:56 AM by CH
All of the US HB shops have it but it will cost you $20-30 to get it here thats assuming customs will allow you import grain :(
I'd probably just use melanoidin. Don't go mad with it though!

Bubbles

I've often wondered whether these proprietary malts from US are all they're cracked up to be. Honey malt, special roast etc.