• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
March 28, 2024, 03:29:33 PM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Whirlpool/hopstand vs hopback

Started by SureLook, January 11, 2021, 02:39:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SureLook

I have a DIPA recipe that calls for a hopback post boil after cooling to 80C. I've never done one of these before (although it doesn't seem too difficult assuming you have the equipment). Assuming I use whole leaf hops (more on this below) what is the difference between performing a hopback and performing a whirlpool followed by a 30-60 min hopstand? The principle is the same where I'm trying to extract the max amount of hop aroma/oils without isomerising and adding to the bitterness.

On the topic of hops, having chatted to the person who built the recipe, whole hops are used in the hopback (which I realise is common practice using this method). If I were to use hop pellets instead while also using the whirlpool/hopstand method described above would this make much difference? Reason I'm not so pushed on using whole hops is that I can't seem to source any of the specific ones I'm after (Bravo, Liberty & Crystal) on a reasonable scale (<100 g).

Feel free to suggest alternative ways to get the same result or tell me if I'm talking rubbish!
Wee County Brewers - Small County, Big Beers!

Water_Wolf

I don't think there's a fundamental difference between the two systems, but I would expect there would be some amount of variance between hop flavours and bitterness between the two (I've never used a hopback).

Hopback occurs in a sealed container with constantly moving wort.
Hopstand occurs in an open container with relatively static wort.