• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
March 29, 2024, 11:25:48 AM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Ahoy

Started by Beermonger, January 21, 2015, 11:56:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beermonger

Hi all. OK, I'm regretting the nick now. It seemed funny at the time...

Anyway, I'm Stephen from Dublin. I've been homebrewing for about 3 years now. I started when I was living in Poland and someone gave me a few kilos of honey that I didn't know what to do with. Made a godawful mead (actually, it became drinkable a year later), and gave up meadmaking for the instant gratification of beer.

At the moment I'm not brewing nearly enough as I'd like to. See, I need an equipment upgrade to take the hassle out of certain parts of the process. So I'm working on a brewery rebuild. I might be asking some questions on the Equipment forum soon!

Looking forward to getting back into brewing and maybe going along to the local club!
Planning: DIPA, Kweik PA, Calibration Pale Ale
Putrifying: nothing
Pouring: Lovely Saison, Czech Lager, 1804 Porter
Past: Cashmere PA

LordEoin

Avast! I like your name. Good job.
What are you upgrading?

Beermonger

As for the equipment- everything, really. Currently using a too-small stockpot to heat water, a bucket and bag as mashtun, and the too-small stockpot again as a kettle. It's quite the pain, so I'm thinking of the bucker-boiler with kettle elements as the HLT and kettle and a false-bottom or bazooka screen in a bucket for the MLT. So nothing very fancy as yet, but I do want temp control on the HLT as I typically spend far too long trying to prepare, say, 15 litres of water at 75 degrees.