• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
June 16, 2024, 01:33:39 PM

News:

Renewing ? Its fast and easy - just pay here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Campden tablets and stainless steel corrosion

Started by imark, July 06, 2017, 11:43:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

imark

I left a mix of campden tablets (probably 6 or so) and a few litres of water in stainless steel pot with lid on. It was probably in there a couple of weeks. When I lifted the lid today there was a significant amount of corrosion on the lid and upper wall of the stainless steel pot.

I was a bit surprised. Any chemistry head care to explain how my stupidity led to what happened?

Should I clean it and wash it with something acidic now? It seems to be surface only.

Gerryjo

I'm no stainless expert but worked with a guy who could have given you every detail for stainless and was a plant manager at a cheese factory and always complained about the use of 304 grade SS due too poor corrosive resistance as opposed too 316 explaining why they should never use 304 for walkways, railings etc especially near the cost as they always rust.
Here's a piece from Wikipedia

Type 316—the second most common grade (after 304); for food and surgical stainless steel uses; alloy addition of molybdenum prevents specific forms of corrosion. It is also known as marine grade stainless steel due to its increased resistance to chloride corrosion compared to type 304. 316 is often used for building nuclear reprocessing plants.

Stress Corrosion Cracking