• Welcome to National Homebrew Club Ireland. Please login or sign up.
June 16, 2024, 12:13:20 AM

News:

Want to Join up ? Simply follow the instructions here
Not a forum user? Now you can join the discussion on Discord

Mash pH, how important is it??

Started by Paul86, March 29, 2019, 04:49:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul86

Hi Everyone,

Im fairly new to Homebrew and have been trying to improve my beers.

I have been reading quite a bit on the topic of mash pH, essentially the optimum mash pH is between 5.2 and 5.5. At this pH the two main conversion enzymes can carry out there job at the most efficient rate giving you the best wort to brew your beer.

My question is what happens when the target is not reached??

Is it a case of incomplete enzymatic conversion and therefore poor efficiency?? If so can you just mash for longer until conversion is complete??

Are off flavours produced from a higher pH????

Are there are other potentially negative side effect produced from mashing at the wrong pH.

Can you still brew good beer using mash that wasnt carried out at Ph 5.2???

Tom

Off flavours aren't produced at an incorrect mash pH, but they'll develop down the line. Mash pH is about conversion, sparge pH (alkalinity levels) will extract astringent components, boil oh affects hop oil efficacy and coagulation, fermenter pH affects yeast performance, and finished product pH affects flavour. Start the mash right and it should all fall into place.

I dunno if I've ever said (I say it a lot) test your alkalinity for each brew, and bring it in line, for a flawless brewday.

"Can you still brew good beer using mash that wasnt carried out at Ph 5.2?"
I have literally no idea. I don't have a pH metre.

DEMPSEY

+1 to all said above. Mash PH is essential as well as a sparge PH. The rule of thumb is to not go above 5.9 PH  for end of running but it's best to be lower than this number. 
Dei miscendarum discipulus